Are you over 21?
Over 18 but not over 21
Are you a US citizen?
Have you ever been in the Armed Forces?
In what state do you live (where is your driver's license / other photo ID)?
This document is very much in alpha stage! It is not to be considered reliable. It is to be a supplement to your own research. As this document is built, it will contain links to Attorneys General, state laws, caselaw, and state boards and official agencies that will give you more up-to-date and official information. Use the information presented here at your own risk!! Please report any inaccuracies, errors, or page problems to the site owner.
This document presumes that you are a US citizen, and have not been convicted or charged with any felonies, violent misdemeanors, or domestic violence offences. Always be sure to check the laws of the state and/or locality you are planning to carry in before carrying concealed. This document is intended as a guideline, and does NOT constitute legal advice or replace your own due diligence!!!
Alabama honors all other states' permits, but it does not issue nonresident permits.
Alaska has constitutional carry for people over 21, but it does not issue nonresident permits.
Arkansas honors all other states' permits, but it does not issue nonresident permits.
California does not honor any other states' permits, and it does not issue nonresident permits.
Colorado honors select permits if the person resides in the state of issuance. It only gives nonresident permits to people who have property or businesses in Colorado, or members of the military.
DC does not honor any other states' permits. It only issues up to two-year permits to applicants who have "good reason to fear injury to his or her person or property or has any other proper reason for carrying a pistol". In practice, DC is no-issue.
Delaware honors 21 states' permits. It only issues 30-day temporary licenses to nonresidents. "No individual shall be issued more than 3 temporary licenses."
Georgia honors 32 states' permits. It does not issue nonresident permits.
Hawaii does not honor any other states' permits, and it does not issue nonresident permits. It is a may-issue state that is no-issue in practice.
Idaho honors all other states' permits. Idaho is shall-issue toward nonresidents, but you must go in person to the state of Idaho. Idaho has constitutional carry for its own residents.
Illinois does not honor any others states' permits. The Illinois State Police have stated that they will only issue nonresident permits to residents of Arkansas, Mississippi, Texas, and Virginia.
Indiana honors all other states' permits. It will only issue nonresident permits to an applicant who "has a regular place of business or employment in Indiana".
Iowa honors all other states' permits, but it will only issue a nonresident permit to law enforcement officers and "other nonresidents with a demonstrable viable threat to themselves or their family as verified by a law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction where the threat occurred".
Kansas has constitutional carry, but it does not issue nonresident permits.
Kentucky honors all other states' permits, but it only gives nonresident permits to members of the Armed Forces who have already been assigned to posts in Kentucky for at least 6 months.
Louisiana honors 37 states' permits. It does not issue nonresident permits.
Maryland does not honor any other states' permits. It is a "may-issue" state; close to "no-issue" in practice. A Maryland permit is nearly impossible for the average person to acquire. You must show cause, which includes police reports, and even then it is a toss-up. Be very sure you want to select Maryland.
Check Maine. Its constitutional carry may only apply to its own residents.
Massachusetts does not honor any other states' permits. A Massachusetts permit requires an appearance in person at the Firearms Records Bureau in Chelsea, MA. Massachusetts is "may-issue"; nonresident permits are rarely issued.
Michigan honors all other states' permits if you are a resident of that state, but it does not issue nonresident permits.
Minnesota permits require an application to a Minnesota sheriff.
Mississippi has constitutional carry for anyone over 21 in a holster or bag, but it does not issue nonresident permits. Beware of "pocket carrying" or other styles of carrying in Mississippi; it's illegal.
Missouri has constitutional carry for anyone over 18, but it does not issue nonresident permits.
Montana honors 43 states' permits. It does not issue nonresident permits.
Nebraska honors 38 states' permits. It does not issue nonresident permits.
New Jersey is a "may-issue" state; close to "no-issue" in practice. A Maryland permit is nearly impossible for the average person to acquire. Be very sure you want to select New Jersey.
New Mexico honors 24 states' permits. It does not issue nonresident permits.
New York does not honor any other states' permits. It does not issue nonresident permits.
North Carolina honors all other states' permits. It does not issue nonresident permits.
North Dakota honors permits from 38 states. It issues nonresident permits to most states, but training must take place in North Dakota and cannot be part of training for another state's permit.
Ohio honors all other states' permits. It only issues nonresident permits to people employed in Ohio. It also can issue an emergency license to people with a "justifiable need."
In addition to honoring all other states' permits, Oklahoma honors constitutional carry for residents of certain constitutional carry states. It does not issue nonresident permits.
Oregon does not honor any other states' permits. It shall issue a permit to residents of states that border Oregon, or people who own or lease property in Oregon.
Pennsylvania honors 28 states' permits, but only honors some if the permittee is a resident of the state. It shall issue permits to nonresidents, but it requires a trip to Pennsylvania.
Rhode Island does not honor any other states' permits. Nonresident permits are rarely issued.
South Carolina honors permits from 23 states where the licensee is a resident of the issuing state. South Carolina will only issue nonresident permits to South Carolina landowners.
While South Dakota honors all other states' permits, it does not itself issue nonresident permits.
Tennessee issues permits to nonresidents employed in Tennessee for six months or more. While it honors all other states' permits, if it denies a permit, the applicant's privilege to carry in Tennessee is revoked regardless of what concealed carry permits he holds.
Texas honors permits from 43 states. A nonresident Texas concealed carry permit requires a safety class conducted in Texas by a certified instructor.
Acquiring a Utah permit requires taking an approved course. Utah posts a list of certified instructors on the Internet.
Vermont does not issue concealed carry permits to anyone, resident or nonresident. It is forbidden by its state constitution from restricting or regulating the rights of its citizens to bear arms.
West Virginia has constitutional carry. It does not issue nonresident permits.
Wisconsin honors 43 states' permits. It does not issue nonresident permits.
Wyoming has constitutional carry for its residents. It honors any other states' permits. It does not issue nonresident permits.
Permits Alabama Honors
"Under Alabama Code Section 13A-11-85, Alabama will recognize any valid out of state permit." - Office of the Attorney General
Alaska has constitutional carry: "There is no prohibition against carrying a concealed weapon so long as the prohibited behaviors regarding the carry are respected." - Alaska DPS, "In Alaska". However, in Alaska's reciprocity agreement with Idaho, they have stated that they will only recognize Idaho's enhanced concealed carry permit. So do your own figuring there.
Arizona is a constitutional carry state. Anyone who can legally possess a firearm may carry concealed in Arizona.
It seems that Arizona tends to operate under the principle that everything which is not forbidden is allowed. In other words, it's not so much that you can prove out of the law or the AG's office that permitless carry is forbidden, but that you can prove by the US 2nd Amendment and the lack of Arizona carry laws that you're allowed to carry concealed. If you have better information than this, please contact me and let me know about it!
Arizona Nonresident Permits
Arizona has issued permits by mail. You must furnish proof of competence with a firearm through completing a course susch as an NRA training. Arizona does not differentiate between residents and nonresidents.
The State of Maine has constitutional carry for persons not otherwise disqualified who are 21 or older, and to persons 18 or older who are members of the Armed Forces. Persons 18 to 20 may carry concealed with a permit.
Maine Nonresident Permits
Maine issues nonresident permits through the Maine State Police's Special Investigations Unit.
Minnesota recognizes concealed carry permits from the following states that "have laws similar to Minnesota's permit-to-carry law": Alaska, Delaware, Idaho (Enhanced), Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota (Class 1), Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota (Enhanced).
Minnesota Nonresident Permits
Minnesota does issue permits to out-of-state residents. "Applications must be submitted in person to a Minnesota county sheriff."
New Hampshire acquired Constitutional Carry for all persons who are not expressly prohibited from carrying a firearm on 22 February 2017. SB12 "repeals the requirement to obtain a concealed carry license, both for residents and non-residents, and [makes] the seeking of a license voluntary." - Division of State Police
There is no minimum age to carry concealed, but open carry is limited to persons 18 years or older.
New Hampshire Nonresident Permits
New Hampshire issues licenses to nonresidents. All nonresidents must apply throught the New Hampshire State Police.
Oklahoma does not issue nonresident permits. "In order to be eligible for an SDA license you must be a resident of Oklahoma. For purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, the term resident is anyone who either possesses a valid Oklahoma driver license or state photo identification card, and physically maintains a residence in this state, or has permanent military orders within this state and possesses a valid driver license from another state where residency is claimed. Oklahoma Self-Defense Act Frequently Asked Questions
South Carolina has reciprocity with the following states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho (enhanced), Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota (enhanced), Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota (enhanced), Texas, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia (21+), and Wyoming.
You must be a resident of an issuing state with a reciprocity agreement with South Carolina to carry in South Carolina with an out-of-state permit.
South Carolina Nonresident Permits
South Carolina only issues nonresident permits to persons who own land in South Carolina.